By road

Oxford is connected to London, the M25 and the Midlands by the M40 motorway. Junctions 8 and 9 link directly to the city. The Oxford ring road provides direct access to the south and west coast ports of Southampton, Portsmouth and Bristol via the A34.

  • Birmingham-Oxford: M40-A34
  • Bristol-Oxford: M32-M4-A34
  • Cardiff-Oxford: M4-A420
  • Edinburgh-Oxford: A74(M)-A74-M6-M42-M40-A34
  • Glasgow-Oxford: M74-A74(M)-M6-M42-M40-A34
  • London-Oxford: A40-M40-A40
  • Manchester-Oxford: M56-M6-M42-M40-A34
  • Newcastle-Oxford: A1-A1(M)-M1-A43-M40-A34
  • Nottingham-Oxford: M1-A43-M40-A34

You can plan your route online using one of the free route planners - examples are the AA or the RAC.


Oxford streets are closed to traffic and parking is severely limited. Parking in other designated areas is available for a maximum of 3 hours. Parking restrictions also exist in the roads adjacent to the College.

Visitors are encouraged to use the Park and Ride bus service which operate between the city centre and parking areas on the outskirts at Pear Tree, Woodstock Road (north); Water Eaton (north); Seacourt, Botley Road (west); Redbridge, Abingdon Road (south); and Thornhill, London Road (east).

The closest park and ride is the Water Eaton site (north of the ring road near Kidlington) and the City Centre. There is a stopping point on the northbound and southbound routes, on Banbury Road opposite the end of Linton Road (tell the bus driver you want to get off at the 'St Margaret's Road stop'). It is approximately a five-minute walk from this junction to the College. 

You can find more details at

Key dates

Full paper (track A) and abstract (track B) submission
14 May 2021 (11:59PM AoE)

Poster (track C) submission                                                
29 June 2021 (11:59PM AoE)

Registration deadline
3 September 2021 (11:59PM AoE)

See the full list of key dates


Sponsored by the International Society for Nanoscale Science, Computation and Engineering, Department of Physics at the University of Oxford, Microsoft Research and Institute of Physics